Student Clubs

Involvement with student learning by OSU School of Media and Strategic Communication faculty is not confined to the classroom. Most SMSC faculty members serve as advisers for student clubs and organizations, several of which specifically cater to OSU Sports Media majors.


In 2010, Oklahoma State University established the first collegiate chapter of Association for Women in Sports Media (AWSM). The OSU AWSM-chapter – which includes many female and male members – won the national organization’s first ever Student Chapter of the Year award in 2013. OSU-AWSM regularly brings top industry professionals to campus, a list that has included ESPN’s Linda Cohn and Holly Rowe over the last two years. Further, the campus chapter offers financial support for multiple members to attend the ASWM national convention each year.

2015-16 President: Courtney Brown
Faculty Adviser: Dr. Kathleen McElroy

Linda Cohn Holly




In 2014, Oklahoma State formed one of the first student chapters of the Associated Press Sports Editors (APSE), which was quickly recognized by the national organization as an official chapter. OSU-APSE already has the largest membership of any student chapter within the APSE. Mike Sherman, sports editor of The Oklahoman and 2014-15 President of the APSE national chapter, and Tulsa World sports editor Michael Peters both serve as OSU-APSE external advisers and frequently interact with student members. OSU-APSE is slated to host the APSE Great Plains Regional meeting in the spring of 2016.

2015-16 President: Cody Stavenhagen
Faculty Adviser: Dr. Edward (Ted) M. Kian


SMC logoCamera 2Sports Media Club

The OSU Sports Media Club allows students the opportunity to gain practical experiences in sports play-by-play announcing and working behind the scenes on live sports telecasts. Club members can attend Cowboy athletic events and do practice recordings that can be used for resume tapes. Sports Media Club members are also recruited to work on crews for games televised by networks such as ESPN, ABC and Fox Sports Net. The OSU Sports Media Club regularly hosts guest speakers from a variety of professional sport media outlets.

2015-16 President: Caleb Surly
Faculty Advisers: Dr. Edward (Ted) M . Kian and Dr. John McGuire



mo Home WPioneer Media TeamPioneerMediaPhoto

OSU Sports Media majors work for the Pioneer Media team, which produces multimedia content (e.g., game stories, features, video standups, podcasts, highlight reels, etc.) for the Stillwater High School athletics website, and, and manages all social media (Twitter, Instagram, Periscope, YouTube, Flickr) for Stillwater football.


2015 Directors of Media: Kurtis Quillin, Dominic Holden, John Langham, Brandon Walton
Faculty Advisers: Gina Noble and Dr. Edward (Ted) M. Kian; Writing Coach: Ray Murray


Other Opportunities

Many OSU Sports Media majors are members of other student organizations and on-campus activities. See here for more information.